1. Home
  2. About
  3. Panel Members

Panel Members

 Juliet Lyon CBE - Chair  Juliet Lyon CBE Photo





Juliet Lyon is Chair of the Panel and took up post on 1st September 2016. She is a visiting Professor in the School of Law at Birkbeck, University of London and Vice President of the British Association of Counselling and Psychotherapy. Previously Juliet was Director of the Prison Reform Trust and Secretary General of Penal Reform International. She has worked in mental health managing Richmond Fellowship halfway houses and in education as teacher in charge of a psychiatric unit school. Early in her career, she was a foster parent. Juliet has acted as an independent advisor to ChildLine and to a number of government reviews including the Halliday review of the sentencing framework, Corston review of vulnerable women in the justice system and Bradley review of mental health and learning disability.

Stephen Cragg QC

Stephen Cragg is a barrister specialising in public law, and human rights. He practices from Monckton Chambers.  His main areas of public law include police law, community care and health law, the retention and disclosure of information by public bodies, the criminal justice system, and coroners’ inquests.  He has acted in many death in custody inquests on behalf of families of the deceased.  Stephen sits as a part-time judge for the mental health review tribunal.

Dinesh Maganty

Dinesh Maganty is currently Lead Consultant for intensive care for Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust Secure Care Services.  He is also Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist at HMP Hewell.  He is a member of the National Clinical reference group for Health and Justice for NHS England.  He has acted as a Psychiatric expert instructed by coroners in cases of death in prisons and psychiatric hospitals for the last decade.

Dinesh has also acted as an expert for the NHS litigation authority in cases of deaths in hospitals and in the community and has been an expert in over 700 criminal and civil cases.

Meng Aw-Yong

Dr Meng Aw-Yong is a Forensic Medical Examiner and Medical Director for the Metropolitan Police, Medical Advisor for St John Ambulance, crowd doctor at QPR and works in Emergency Medicine at Hillingdon Hospital. He is a Medical Member Social Entitlement Chamber, council member of the British Academy of Forensic Science and the Emergency Medicine and Clinical Forensic and Legal Medicine sections of the Royal Society of Medicine, Founding Member and examiner for the membership exam of the Faculty of Forensic and Legal Medicine, advisory member of the Health in Justice Strategic Clinical Network, and the NICE Guideline Development Group.

He is an instructor in Trauma and Life courses, a lecturer in Forensic Medicine, Fitness to Practice assessor, Drs Supporter and Suitable Person for the GMC.

Graham Towl

Professor Graham Towl is a leading expert on suicide in prisons with experience extending across clinical practice, policy making and academic research. He has undertaken research into suicide in prisons including the seminal work on analysing over 2000 cases of prisoner suicide from 1978 to 2014, which is the most comprehensive such study undertaken globally. A particular focus of his work has been on diversity and equality issues. He was a member of the Harris Review team and has been a member of the Independent Advisory Panel of deaths in custody since 2014.

Uniquely he is the recipient of the British Psychological Society Awards for Outstanding Contributions to both Professional practice and academic knowledge in forensic psychology. In 2003 he was peer rated as the most influential forensic psychologist in the UK. Previously he has worked as a Pro Vice Chancellor at Durham University and also as a Senior Civil Servant in the role of Chief Psychologist at the Ministry of Justice.

He is currently Professor of Forensic Psychology at Durham University and visiting clinical professor at Newcastle University.

*/ ?>